Contenuto disponibile in Italiano

BRICS countries: Johannesburg, summit of new leading economies on “inclusive growth and shared prosperity”

The tenth summit of the new leading economies (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa), BRICS, the acronym that stands for the countries that make it up and chair it in turns, will be opening in Johannesburg, South Africa, today. “Cooperation in inclusive growth and shared prosperity in the fourth industrial revolution” is the topic that “reflects the key priorities of each member”. South Africa will bring a few ideas to the summit, such as the establishment of a peacekeeping workgroup, a vaccine research centre and a forum on gender and women’s issues, “given the economic benefit that comes from women’s socio-economic empowerment”, the development of tourist partnerships. A “business forum” is taking place in the morning, while in the afternoon the summit will be opened by the speeches of South-African President Cyril Ramaphosa, followed by Brazilian President Michel Temer, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping. Tomorrow, the leaders will sign the “Johannesburg Declaration”, while on Friday a session will be focussed on the African scenario, and the leaders of Ethiopia, Angola, Zambia, Namibia, Senegal, Gabon, Togo, Uganda and Rwanda will all be there. This summit “will be a milestone, as it embodies a decade of cooperation among the BRICS countries at the highest diplomatic level”, President Rampohosa stated.

© Riproduzione Riservata


Quotidiano - Italiano